Ollie's First Steps

Hi, my name is Ollie.  I am nearly 2 ½ years old.  I was born 10 weeks early which was a big shock to my family.  I spent the first 7 weeks of my life in special care.  Just before my Mum, Dad and big brother Sam brought me home from hospital, they told my family that I had a condition called PVL (periventricular leucomalacia).  As I have grown and developed I have been diagnosed with spastic diplegic cerebral palsy – this means I can’t walk like my friends and big brother.  

My Mum and Dad have looked around and tried to find lots of things to help me.  They filmed me crawling and moving around and sent the film to Dr Park, a surgeon at St Louis Children’s Hospital in America.  Dr Park specialises in helping children who have the same problem I do.  He has invented an operation called SDR (Selective Dorsal Rhizotomy) He thinks I am an excellent candidate and that if I have the operation my mobility will improve and there is a good chance I will be able to walk.  The problem is in order to have the operation my family need to find £60,000!  We are on Dr Park’s waiting list for summer 2013. 

My Mum and Dad say I am such a star!  I work really hard on my physio everyday.  I use a standing frame, wear splints and have a special stretching routine my Mum and Dad help me with at bedtime.  I am just beginning to learn how to use a kaye walker.

I am a really happy little boy and am so determined to get around.  When I am chasing after Sam and crawling as fast as I can, I often shout “I’m running!”.  I have already shown my family that I have courage, determination, a sense of humour and a willingness to work hard on my physio and succeed.

I have fantastic Grandparents and family friends who really want to see me walk.  Please help me achieve my dream to run around with my big brother.

Love Ollie XXX


Request Removal

Request a callback

Fields marked with an * are required

Fields marked with an * are required